Spring/Summer Training – Phase 1

Tuesday sessions will continue as normal throughout the Hill & Dale series
All sessions begin at 6:30pm
Meeting place for Castlewellan is Hillyard House, Tollymore is the Upper Car Park and Murlough is the 12 Arches Car Park

Tuesday 12 April – Castlewellan – 5km time trial
Tuesday 19 April – Tollymore – 2s and 3s – 5 sets
Tuesday 26 April – Murlough – 5 x 1 mile
Tuesday 3 May – Castlewellan – 6 x 800m
Tuesday 10 May – Tollymore – Pyramid
Tuesday 17 May – Castlewellan – 6 x 1km
Tuesday 24 May – Tollymore – 5 mile time trial
Tuesday 31 May – Murlough – Paired Paarlauf

Junior Membership night

Newcastle AC Junior Membership Renewal night will be this Monday 4th April 2016.

Important details are HERE. Please read these before attending on Monday night.

PBs and MOTs as Newcastle AC shine in the Royal County

The Meath Spring Half Marathon in Bohermeen by Bogusboy

Bohermeen 2016 TeamFinally it arrived.  After much talking, planning and many, many hard miles of training, a bus full of maybes was more or less a bus full of hopefuls as Newcastle AC and a few friends headed south to complete the annual pilgrimage to Bohermeen.  Since training for spring marathons began in earnest on 1 January, this date has been firmly etched in the diaries of the NAC faithful as the barometer for measuring progress against their goals for the year, particularly in the forthcoming marathons that have been entered.  The day got off to a great start with David O’Flaherty romping to victory by more than a minute in the 10k that went out 30 minutes before the half began.  His 32:22 marks an impressive new PB as he left Paul Magee of Shercock AC (33:31) and Eoin Taggart of Conliffe harriers (33:54) trailing in his wake. Continue reading

Excellent performances from club athletes at Jimmy’s 10k in Downpatrick

Kerry O’Flaherty continued her Olympic Year preparation with a victory in East Down AC’s Jimmy’s 10k in Downpatrick on Sunday morning. Spring-like conditions greeted the 821 runners at the East Down clubrooms as they signed in ready to do battle. The early pace was fast and O’Flaherty was accompanied by club mate Marty Melville as they passed the first km in 3:13 and then through 3k in 10:01 including the climb to do the short lap of Down Cathedral. Half distance was reached in 17:03 and a solid second half saw O’Flaherty winning the women’s race in 34:49.  Continue reading

NI & Ulster XC Champions 2016

Shalene crossing the lineThe Team





Historic Day in Lurgan Park for Newcastle & District AC
Newcastle & District AC went to Lurgan Park on Saturday for the Northern Ireland & Ulster Cross-Country Championships full of expectation for successful outings in both the women’s and men’s race – the outcome was a best ever day on the country for the club in its 35 year history.

Senior Women’s 6k
First up was Shalene McMurray, winner three weeks ago in the Northern Ireland and Ulster Intermediate Cross-Country at Coleraine. As she did that day she set off in Lurgan with clear intent – after the initial quarter mile as they passed the ‘3 laps to go’ point she had already established a 10 metre lead over the rest of the field and she literally never looked back pulling away to win by nearly a minute. A fantastic achievement McMurray who has been putting in her first ever serious cross-county season and in winning the title emulates her club mate Kerry O’Flaherty who won the title back in 2008. Continue reading